Proof! Ha!

Psychologist Philip Zimbardo says happiness and success are rooted in a trait most of us disregard: the way we orient toward the past, present and future. He suggests we calibrate our outlook on time as a first step to improving our lives.

So is this scientific proof of what I was saying? We have been living in the future too much and run out of energy, that we need the hedonism of things in the present? Honestly, watch it, its great to question what you are thinking about and how that might be helping or hindering your happiness and self development.

A year or two ago, we one of those life or death moments. Thankfully for us it was life, and I will forever be profoundly grateful that it was, yet it still had an impact. Everyone deals with those differently and for a while I was preoccupied with the ordinary tasks of recovery, but later, as the dust started to settle, I wondered more and more about the costs of waiting for ‘later’. What if later never comes? What if there is no later? What if there is only now.

There’s nothing wrong with focusing on the future, on making plans and working to achieve something of course. I want to make that clear. I couldn’t wipe this from my personality if I wanted to. But now, I think I get it more. It’s OK to focus on the good stuff now.

I am making decisions now I would have been too afraid to make yesterday. I don’t know that they will all work out, but  I am trying things out.

Hedonism has something going for it, and it’s scientific now! 😉

Leave a Reply

