A Traveling Education

I wrote this piece many years ago. It’s amazing to reread my old posts. It reminds me, yet again, of what I like, no, what I need in my life. Yes, the constants in my life. 🙂 And my gorgeous biggest one, looking so very little. 🙂

Love, Learn, Laugh

image

One of the perks I hadn’t considered when we chose home education was that we would be much more free to travel. We wouldn’t be bound to expensive school holiday periods or fighting with all the other parents for holiday leave. We have the freedom to take up opportunities as they present themselves.

We recently returned from a trip. I admit it wasn’t the best holiday ever – it was plagued by bad luck and fire alarms – but it really got me thinking about the ups and downs of a traveling education.

I don’t think we will ever be a permanently traveling family. I am too addicted to my comfy bed to be without it too long. But I do love traveling. Travel with children IS hard work but it is intensely rewarding. A child’s presence changes the way you look at things. It forces you to travel more…

View original post 307 more words

Leave a Reply

